Turn your pain into power

About 14 weeks ago I tried to do a “glute bridge” and I had serious trouble trying to do it. My hips have taken a lot of pain and stiffness from the RA so moving them has been painful.

Well, I decided I wanted to do these things and I started with 5 simple, barely even moving. It burned to move and I sometimes teared up from the pain.

So, I put on my most aggressive weight lifting music (Rob bailey-hungry) and decided I wasn’t going to let RA decide what I can and can’t do.

For weeks I practiced and tried, 3 times a week. At times feeling embarrassed and foolish but I kept with it. 5 turned into 7, then 10, then 12, then one leg, then after a couple months, the pain went away. I had won my movement back! My hips moved freely without feeling like stuck in cement and lactic burn.

Today I did my glute bridges, one leg 3x 12 with 25lb weight. I have my movement back, I had to fight like hell for it, but I won and now I’m getting stronger.

I promise you, if you stick and fight with all your heart, you can accomplish your goals too. Turn your pain into power, my friends.

Turn your pain into power.

#beatingRA

1452335_10201206114051018_453324305_n

Big accomplishment today! 12 months ago, I couldn’t squat, my range of motion was limited, it hurt to move in a squat motion and I wasn’t strong enough for even my own body weight, so I started baby squats-motions in the pool, holding onto the rail. After a couple months, I graduated to assisted squatting, outside the pool where I held a towel wrapped around a pillar to do the full range of motion squat, no weight, just motion. About 3 months of those and I graduated to the Smith machine, only bar. A couple months of those and then I graduated to bar + 10lbs, I did a couple months like that. -Well, last week I graduated out of the Smith machine into free standing squats with the bar (45lbs)! Yes!!  This week I added weights! AMAZING #gettingstronger

1450240_675784715774850_2098957019_n

1150276_678879678798687_1219189761_n

3 thoughts on “Turn your pain into power

  1. You are an awesome inspiration, thank you. The doctors said I would never be able to run, or ride again as it would just make my auto immune disease worse. In the back of my head I knew I would get out again, but you have strengthened my motivation.

Leave a Reply

